Keynote Speakers


Eric Maskin

Eric Maskin is the Adams University Professor at Harvard. He has made contributions to game theory, contract theory, social choice theory, political economy, and other areas of economics.

He received his A.B. and Ph.D from Harvard and was a postdoctoral fellow at Jesus College, Cambridge University. He was a faculty member at MIT from 1977-1984, Harvard from 1985-2000, and the Institute for Advanced Study from 2000-2011. He rejoined the Harvard faculty in 2012. In 2007, he was awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics (with L. Hurwicz and R. Myerson) for laying the foundations of mechanism design theory.


Geoffrey M. Hodgson

Geoffrey M. Hodgson is Research Professor in Business Studies at the University of Hertfordshire, UK. Author of over 16 books, over 140 articles in academic journals, and over 80 articles in academic books. including “Conceptualizing Capiatlism” (2015), “From Pleasure Machines to Moral Communities (2013), “Darwin’s Conjecture” (with Thorbjoern Knudsen, 2010), Economics in the Shadows of Darwin and Marx (2006), “The Evolution of Institutional Economics” (2004), and “How Economics Forgot History” (2001).

Editor in Chief of the Journal of Institutional Economics. Secretary of the World Interdisciplinary Network for Institutional Research (WINIR).

(Geoffrey Hodgson)

Erik Berglof

Professor Erik Berglof became the inaugural Director of the Institute of Global Affairs (IGA) on 1 February 2015. Previously he was the Chief Economist and Special Adviser to the President of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD). Prior to joining the EBRD in 2006, Erik Berglof held the position of Director of the Stockholm Institute of Transition Economics (SITE) and Professor at the Stockholm School of Economics and a Research Fellow at the Brookings Institution in Washington, D.C.

He was the founder and President of the Centre for Economic and Financial Research (CEFIR), now part of the New Economic School in Moscow.
In 2013 he was awarded the Leontief Medal for his contributions to economic reforms.


Philippe Aghion

Philippe Aghion is a Professor at the College de France and at the London School of Economics, and a fellow of the Econometric Society and of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. His research focuses on the economics of growth. With Peter Howitt, he pioneered the so-called Schumpeterian Growth paradigm which was subsequently used to analyze the design of growth policies and the role of the state in the growth process. Much of this work is summarized in their joint books Endogenous Growth Theory (MIT Press, 1998) and The Economics of Growth (MIT Press, 2009), in his book with Rachel Griffith on Competition and Growth (MIT Press, 2006), and in his survey “What Do We Learn from Schumpeterian Growth Theory” (joint with U. Akcigit and P. Howitt.) In 2001, Philippe Aghion received the Yrjo Jahnsson Award of the best European economist under age 45, and in 2009 he received the John Von Neumann Award.


Iván Szelényi

Iván Szelényi is William Graham Sumner Emeritus Professor of Sociology and Political Science, Yale University, Max Weber Professor of Social Science and Foundation Dean of Social Sciences at NYUAD. He is a Fellow of American Academy of Arts and Sciences as well as member of the Hungarian National Academy of Sciences. Szelenyi has published several books and articles on social inequalities from a comparative and historical perspective in Communist and Post-Communist countries.